‘Me’ Time 

As a new mom I often received advice from other moms to take some ‘me’ time. I had a hard time understanding what that meant. And I still do sometimes. So here is a list of things I have compiled that should not be considered as ‘me’ time. 

1. Going to the bathroom

This is a necessary body function, not ‘me’ time. I am not sure how this got lumped into ‘me’ time. Maybe because when the baby went down for a nap and you realized that you needed to pee so badly and that release felt like ‘me’ time. 

2. Taking a shower

I remember in the early days of being a new mom, taking a 10 min shower felt like heaven! I also remember going for days without a shower, because you did not have the energy to wash your hair. But momma taking a shower is not ‘me’ time. It’s part of your personal hygiene routine. 

3. Grocery shopping

This one is terrible ‘me’ time. You have a list. You are walking around Costco looking for things on the list. You have to hurry so you can be home in time before your baby wakes up from his/her nap ( Don’t worry you left Dad at home so he can ‘watch’ the baby). Going to the grocery store by yourself is not ‘me’ time. It’s a chore.

4. Cleaning

If you are wondering how this even made the list, you will be surprised to know that some people find cleaning relaxing. I am not one of those people. 

To really understand what ‘me’ time is, I took a full day (8 hours to be exact) and did things for ME that do not fall into the above categories. Here is what I did:

1. I got a haircut! After 9 months! This felt liberating! It made me feel beautiful. 

2. I got my eyebrows threaded. After 3 months! That is a long time for someone who had a unibrow to go without threading. Getting my eyebrows done changed the way I looked and felt. I felt pretty.

3. I got a manicure and a pedicure. I forgot when was the last time I got this done. Ever since Zara was born my nails have been brittle and soft. I usually hide my hands. I have to say that I enjoyed this the most. It made me feel like my old self. 


4. I went to a coffee shop, grabbed my favorite mocha and read a book. For an hour!! Reading a book at a cafe takes relaxing to whole new level. 


At the end of the 8 hours I picked up my baby girl from daycare and I felt like a new person. I couldn’t stop smiling. I felt rejuvenated.


And that’s when it hit me, what ‘me’ time means. It means doing things that makes me happy, makes me feel beautiful, makes me feel like my old self and makes me feel rejuvenated.  

So mommas next time you take some ‘me’ time and end up doing the things on my what not to do list, ask yourself does it make you feel rejuvenated? Does it make you feel like your old self? And does it make you happy? If it doesn’t stop calling it ‘me’ time and do something that is truly for yourself. Be selfish! You deserve it. 

I would love to hear what you do for ‘me’ time. Feel free to comment below and share with other mommas who need some motivation to take some ‘me’ time. 

Leave a Reply

