Happy Mother’s Day Zara

This is my second Mother’s Day. The first Mother’s Day was a blur. I was still in the process of learning to be comfortable as a ‘mother’. But this year I feel different. Zara is interacting with me and and wants her momma (most times it is still dada). It’s not just about, feeding, changing and sleeping. So for this Mother’s Day I wanted to write a letter to my daughter, because without her I won’t be here. 


Dear Zara

Happy 2nd Mother’s Day to me and you. The past year has had its ups and downs. We went through, teething, sleep regressions and sickness and lots of change. You started daycare. I went back to work. We went from spending everyday together to just Fridays and the weekends. It was a big change for you, but you adapted. Better than I did. 

You are picking things up so fast. You can now count to 10 and are learning your ABCs. I am amazed at how quickly you have grown into this little human. 

You teach me something new everyday. You have taught me to slow down and take joy in the simple things of life. You taught me to not take myself seriously all the time. You taught me to sing even if I don’t know the words or feel that I am terrible at it. You are such a happy baby, that regardless of what kind of day I have had, my heart lights up when I come home to you.

You have encouraged me to follow my dreams and my heart. You have taught me that there is a silver lining on every cloud. All my life I searched for a purpose. My life before you, felt unfulfilled. You gave my life a purpose. Raising you is the single most important thing I will ever do in my life. And I am proud of that. I am proud to be called, ‘Zara’s mom’. 

I want to say thank you to you Zara for making me a Mother and giving me the privilege to celebrate this day with you. Thank you for choosing me to be your momma. Happy Mother’s Day Zara bear.

Love Momma  


Comments, likes and shares are always welcome! How are you celebrating Mother’s Day? 

And don’t forget to vote for your favourite Top 30 Vancouver Mom blogger today. You can vote every day till May 26th! Thank you for reading and following my journey. 

Vote Here!

Leave a Reply

