Vacationing with a baby: Part one: How to fly with a baby

Summer is upon us and with that summer vacations. The next couple of posts are going to be dedicated to how to vacation with a baby. Yes it can be scary and nerve wracking. But if you like to travel like I do, don’t let having a baby stop you. Let’s start with how to fly with a baby. 

I have flown with Zara 4 times since she was born. The first time she was 5 months old. The second time she was 9 months. The third time she was 10 months. And the last time, was most recently at 21 months. All flights were about 5 hours or so. Over time I have learnt a thing or two about flying with babies. The younger the babies are the easier it is to fly with them. So I have created a list of some helpful tips. 

Here it goes:

  1. Carrying baby: Wear your baby. The first 3 times we flew (ages 5 months, 9 months and 10 months) I wore her in the Ergo. The great thing was my hands were free and I could feed myself, which is always a bonus!
  2. Feeding baby: Feeding the baby can by tricky on the plane. I was still breastfeeding her at that time so it made it easy to breastfeed during take off and landing (to prevent ear infections and helps with the ‘ear popping’ while wearing her in the Ergo.  You can you tube how to breastfeed baby in the ergo for some tips and tricks. It was a little tricky at first, but once I got the hang of it, it was amazing. If you don’t feel comfortable breastfeeding in the Ergo that’s fine too. Feel free to use a cover or not if you are comfortable. I had a lot of anxiety about feeding Zara when she was a baby. I didn’t know how it was going to go. I brought bottles of ready to go formula just in case. Baby food pouches are also great. Milk is also complimentary on most flights. Every flight I was on, allowed us to bring food and milk for the baby.
  3.  Sleeping baby: Again I am big fan of the Ergo here. Zara napped on me in the Ergo. You can also request a baby bassinet seat when you check in. Bonus you get more leg room as it is in the front of the plane. The bassinet was great for us on a late flight. Zara was able to lie down for a bit and mommy and daddy were able to relax.
  4. Entertainment: When Zara was younger this was a lot easier. I took her favourite toys and books. For the last flight we were on, this did not cut it. We brought an iPad with her favourite Netflix shows. Netflix now allows you to download shows and you do not need wifi to play them. This was such a lifesaver!


Overall flying with a baby is not so bad. Yes sometimes they get cranky or poop three times in an hour (true story!). Just be flexible and do what you need to do. Initially I used to worry about annoying other passengers with her crying. But, through all my travels, I have not met a single passenger that told me to get my baby to stop crying. Everyone knows that you are doing best. And hey if you do meet that odd cranky passenger, I say hand them the crying baby and see what happens! 🙂

I would love to hear what worked for you when flying with little ones. Feel free to comment below. 

Bon voyage mommas and Happy travel!

Stay tuned for next weeks blog post on Vacationing with baby: part two: How to have a ‘real relaxing’ vacation with a baby

PS- This is not a sponsored post. This post is based solely on my experience and opinions

Leave a Reply

