Vacationing with a baby Part 3: The 4 must haves to pack when leaving the country with a baby

Last week I talked about how to have a ‘real relaxing’ vacation with kids. This week I am going to share with you what I pack when I am leaving the country. Sometimes being away from home makes it harder to relax because you are away from the comforts of home. I am also a worry wart and tend to play worst case scenarios in my head. So to cope with my anxiety I try to be ‘extra’ prepared. I have had people laugh at me for packing certain things when I travel. But these things have saved me more than once. So today I am sharing with you my top 4 must haves when I travel outside the country. 

  1. Medication– Before I travel I always make a doctors appointment and let them know I am traveling. I ask for prescriptions for any common ailments. When you are traveling with a baby, the number one common ailment is ear infections. I get a prescription for antibiotics for ear infection before I leave. At the pharmacy I let them know that I will be traveling and the medication is for emergency use. The pharmacist is able to give me the medication in powder form as well as a bottle of distilled water. If you need to use it, you just mix it and use it. My doctor recommended that I carry this with me when I fly outside the country. The first couple of times I flew outside the country I did not have to use this. However this last time, I actually ended up using the medication and it was a life saver! In addition to this I also always carry baby Tylenol or baby Advil. 
  2. Pack and play: The first two times we travelled, outside the country we did not take our pack and play with us. We were in Mexico both times and were able to get them at the resorts we stayed at. These pack and plays were pretty worn out. However this last time I brought it with me and it was so much better. Babies like familiar spaces. Zara loved sleeping in her own pack and play. Bonus, you can also check in a pack and play for free as a baby item when you fly. 
  3. Stroller: We have a City mini GT stroller and we love it. It is great on all terrain and folds flat. I have flown with it 4 times. I thought about buying an umbrella stroller just for traveling, but this stroller is so handy and has a little basket which is big enough for a small dog ( my 20 pound pug rides in it). It also has a recline feature and Zara was able to nap in it while we were out for a stroll. So a stroller is definitely a must have for me when I fly outside the country. It is also free to gate check.
  4.  Playtex bottles with liners: If your baby is still taking a bottle, Playtex bottles with liners are great to travel with. The liners are sterilized and  you don’t have to worry about washing bottles. This is especially a concern if you are in a country where tap water is unsafe to drink. This way all you do is rinse the nipple with bottled water and some dish soap. And now you have more time to relax by the pool! 

Tune in next week for Vacationing with a Baby Part 4: How to ‘do’ an all inclusive like a pro. 

I would love to hear what is in your bags mommas. Happy Vacationing! 

Ps- I am posting some vacations pictures below from our most recent trip to Peurto Vallarta. I will be writing a blog post about our trip soon.

2 thoughts on “Vacationing with a baby Part 3: The 4 must haves to pack when leaving the country with a baby

  1. Such great tips! I especially like the one about using Playtex liners! That’s what we used on our first baby vacay and it was such a timesaver!

    Like

Leave a Reply

