It’s my birthday! 

Today is my birthday. I am 36. I am not going to lie, the thought of getting older is not fun. I am getting closer and closer to 40….

Celeberating, birthdays in my 20s and in my 30s are very different. In my 20s, I celeberated August as my ‘birth month’. I was obsessed with my birthday. The morning of my birthday felt like Christmas! In fact, it was better than Christmas because I didn’t have to get presents for anyone else (side note I LOVE Christmas). It was all about the presents, new clothes, cake, parties. It was awesome! 

Fast forward to the present. My birthday is now just another day. But it is also the day I reflect on, one how old I am getting and two what have I done in the past year. It is the one day that I give myself a pat on the back for the things I have accomplished. So here are some things I have done in the past year:

  1. I went back to work, part time at an awesome organization (I am a Recruiter at Hootsuite). I don’t give myself enough credit but I am great at my job. It is not an easy task to work part time and keep up with a fast paced organization. 
  2. I started this blog in January 2016. I was wary of sharing it. I did not want to be judged. But in January 2017 I decided what the heck! There are others moms out there going through the same thing. So I hit the share button. Since then, I was selected as one of the Top 30 Vancouver mom bloggers for 2017 in Vancouver. For a new blogger like me who hasn’t been doing this for a long time and still learning, this is a big big deal! I am still in awe that I was selected. These are some very talented moms and it is an honor to be part of this group. 
  3. I am an anxiety ridden worry wart of a mom. From the day Zara was born, it was like a switch was turned on. How is this an accomplishment? Well it isn’t, but I think acknowledging it, is an accomplishment. Over the past year, I have tried to be less of a worry wart and more of a fly by the seat of your pants mom. The other day we walked by a splash pad. I had no swimsuit for Zara orswim diapers. But I decided to go for it. I undressed her and slathered her with sunscreen and let her run around. Old Husna would have been too scared to do this. So I will count that as an accomplishment. 

There is a big difference in birthdays before baby and after baby. It’s not about the parties and presents anymore. It’s about reflection and counting your blessings. At 36, I am finally starting to feel more like an adult. Do I miss the 20s? Yup definitely. Would I want to go back to it?  Not a chance in hell. 

4 thoughts on “It’s my birthday! 

Leave a Reply

